Thirsty Thursday: Psalm 1

 

Ramblings

Okay, so this is not your stereotypical “Thirsty Thursday.” I might as well go ahead and explain a little bit about why I am starting this series. First of all, some of you may not know, but I have what I would call a “past” I refer to it usually as my “dark ages.” You know, those years in your life that you kinda wish you could take back because you made some pretty horrible decisions and the thought of it makes you cringe still? Yeah, I am talking about those days, and I had quite a few. Honestly I can say that I don’t fully regret them, because they brought me to where I am today. Where is that, you ask?

Well, in my “dark ages” Thirsty Thursday was basically just a reason for stupid college students to get drunk and do stupid things. There was no other purpose. I was less of a drinker and more of a “do other stupid-not-so-smart-somewhat-ileagal-things” kind of girl but either way it was just a dumb excuse for getting wasted. To this day, I have no idea why that was so appealing. #stupidcollegestudents

During that time, I had a complete break down and found myself flat on my face, bawling and crying out to the Lord, quite literally. I had a moment with God that changed my life forever. The day after this experience with the Lord that can only be explained by Him supernaturally opening my eyes, I moved out of where I was living (there was a drug bust there not too long after I moved out, I don’t think it’s an accident that God got my attention when He did).

Anyway, that isn’t the important part. The important part is that I now thirst for something totally legal, totally awesome, and totally life-changing in the most incredible way. I find myself thirsting for The Word, and hungry for God to change me daily, and wanting more and more and more and more of Jesus and the whole time also feeling completely satisfied with where He has me. He completely changed my life that night and if you don’t already know Him…He can do the same for you! And it’s totally worth not ever having a “dark ages” type of Thirsty Thursday ever again.

So, I have decided to start writing a little short snippet of devotional and sharing a Psalm each Thursday. I dare you to read it for 30 days and tell me you don’t get thirsty for more of The Word.

Psalm 1

The Righteous and the Wicked Contrasted.
How blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked,
Nor stand in the path of sinners,
Nor sit in the seat of scoffers!
But his delight is in the law of the Lord,
And in His law he meditates day and night.
He will be like a tree firmly planted by streams of water,
Which yields its fruit in its season
And its leaf does not wither;
And in whatever he does, he prospers.
The wicked are not so,
But they are like chaff which the wind drives away.
Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment,
Nor sinners in the assembly of the righteous.
For the Lord knows the way of the righteous,
But the way of the wicked will perish.

Leave a Reply

