Thirsty Thursday: Psalm 2

Ramblings

This passage is actually kind of confusing. I had to re-read it twice. I also am a daydreamer and I’ll read one sentence and my head goes to thinking about what that sentence said and then I realize I’ve technically continued reading while thinking, but I couldn’t tell you what the last paragraph even said. So, I’m a re-reader, I guess you could say.

Before you read this passage read the very last verse, and then go back and read the entire passage.

Lately through every Bible study I have done there has been one thing that keeps ringing in my ears and that is that if we take refuge in Him, we don’t have to worry about anything else. Please don’t misunderstand me, you are still accountable, I am still accountable, but we are only accountable to our obedience. This is such a hard thing for me to grasp because I often feel like I have to be strong and I have to do things on my own, especially spiritually speaking. I get caught up in the “spiritual checklist” mentality and that is such a waste and so disobedient. He tells us in 1 Peter 5: 6-7, “Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you” then at the very end to wrap up Psalm 2 he says “How blessed are all who take refuge in Him!” That is powerful! All we have to do is come to Him, lay all our burdens at His feet, and trust Him to take care of everything, because He cares, and take refuge in His ability to do far more than we can even comprehend. It’s so simple but we over-think and over analyze everything (especially ladies, just saying).

So what do we do with this information? We allow it to penetrate our hearts and minds. Meditate on the word and pray asking God to reveal the areas in our lives that we need to lay down at His feet and trust Him to be our refuge. We read things like some of this passage that don’t quite make total sense the first time through and ask Him to reveal to us His wisdom through His Word. We ask Him to help us understand and gain insight on His will in our lives, and we continue to trust and be obedient.

We do these things remembering that our call is only to obedience and accountability. Our call is not to do everything on our own. Give yourself a backseat today, take the pressure off yourself, and ask God to be your refuge. Allow yourself time to acknowledge Him for who He is, a great, Almighty, all-powerful, wonderful loving Savior, King, & Lord. He is also the great judge that is always righteous, just, gracious, and merciful. And in all those things, He is also a good, good Father and loves you more than you could even begin to imagine and He cares for you.

Psalm 2

Why are the nations in an uproar
And the peoples devising a vain thing?
The kings of the earth take their stand
And the rulers take counsel together
Against the Lord and against His Anointed, saying,
“Let us tear their fetters apart
And cast away their cords from us!”
He who sits in the heavens laughs,
The Lord scoffs at them.
Then He will speak to them in His anger
And terrify them in His fury, saying,
“But as for Me, I have installed My King
Upon Zion, My holy mountain.”
“I will surely tell of the decree of the Lord:
He said to Me, ‘You are My Son,
Today I have begotten You.
‘Ask of Me, and I will surely give the nations as Your inheritance,
And the very ends of the earth as Your possession.
‘You shall break them with a rod of iron,
You shall shatter them like earthenware.’”
Now therefore, O kings, show discernment;
Take warning, O judges of the earth.
Worship the Lord with reverence
And rejoice with trembling.
Do homage to the Son, that He not become angry, and you perish in the way,
For His wrath may soon be kindled.
How blessed are all who take refuge in Him!

Put it into Practice

Take 5 minutes of your time today to pray and talk to Him about what is going on in your life. Refer back to the top for some more info on that. Then in a notebook, on your phone, your computer, a scratch sheet of paper, whatever it is, write down 5 words that describe who God is in your life today and thank Him for being those things to you.

Leave a Reply

