Thirsty Thursday: Psalm 3

Ramblings

Today is Psalm 3 and can I just tell you how much I love Psalm 3? A LOT!!! We actually sing a song in choir, I believe it is arranged by Bradley Knight (I could be wrong though) called Thou, Oh Lord. We are actually singing it this Sunday so, how fitting that it is our chapter to read all week, right? The song is basically the words in the passage. Every time I read it I end up singing it and then going back and making myself focus to read-read it and not sing the whole thing. I’ll share the song soon. Anyway, it talks about God being the lifter of our heads, our shield, our sustainer, and when we cry to Him, He answers. I love it!

Psalm 3

O Lord, how my adversaries have increased!
Many are rising up against me.
Many are saying of my soul,
“There is no deliverance for him in God.” Selah.
But You, O Lord, are a shield about me,
My glory, and the One who lifts my head.
I was crying to the Lord with my voice,
And He answered me from His holy mountain. Selah.
I lay down and slept;
I awoke, for the Lord sustains me.
I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people
Who have set themselves against me round about.
Arise, O Lord; save me, O my God!
For You have smitten all my enemies on the cheek;
You have shattered the teeth of the wicked.
Salvation belongs to the Lord;
Your blessing be upon Your people! Selah.

Put it into Practice

This week is similar to last week. However, I want you to use last weeks paper that you wrote down 5 words that describe who God is in your life and reflect on those words once more. Has He been those things to you this week? Have you had a tough week and you feel that He is more of a sustainer than a friend? Has He shown you Himself in a different way this week? Did you feel distant this week? Did you think He was more of a Father this week, etc.?

This week I want you to write 5 more words (they can be the same) that describe who He is to you this week or what you feel like you need Him to be this week. Then take some time and remember this week that in all the things He is to us and for us, “Salvation belongs to the Lord, Your blessings be upon Your people!” He pours out His blessings daily upon us. We just have to open our eyes and see. The most difficult times to see His blessing in our lives is often when we do have adversaries rise up against us or when we feel like the walls are caving in, but He sustains us and He lifts our heads. He shatters the teeth of the wicked. Remember that this week! Allow Him to be your sustainer and your Lord. Ask Him to reveal Himself to you and thank Him for His abundant blessings.

Leave a Reply

