Go-To Soup Ingredient

You may notice a theme in my cooking, especially since I have been pregnant. I like black beans, tomatoes, and chicken. I could make about any meal from those three things. However, this soup has something that makes it taste so much better than it would ever taste with just those ingredients.

Coconut Milk

13427090

This is my favorite brand of Coconut Milk but there are others and I use them too, I just love the taste of this one a little bit more.

Ingredients:

  • Coconut Milk
  • Diced Tomatoes
  • Can of Black Beans (drained and rinsed)
  • Can of chicken or about 1 cooked breast diced or pulled apart into small pieces
  • 1/2 Cup Beef or Chicken Broth (beef is better) or a Bullion Cube of either
  • 1 Cup Kale or Spinach (optional and I prefer Kale to Spinach)
  • Chives (also optional) Just a tiny bit

Directions:

  • Add all ingredients to a pot
  • Turn onto Medium-Low Heat
  • Cover
  • Stir occasionally until boiling
  • Bring to boil and then reduce heat to simmer
  • Let simmer for about 10 minutes
  • Eat!

It’s pretty simple and usually takes about 10 minutes to come to a boil. You can eat after simmering or low heat for 10 minutes, but if you want a better flavor leave it to simmer for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, but it’s good either way.

I love this meal it is one of my absolute favorites and when we have a loaf of bread I like to make toast to go along with it. But it’s also great by itself. I hope you enjoy!

P.S. I also occasionally add diced up potatoes in this if I have them and I’m in the mood to chop them up, it makes it a little more “hearty” but it doesn’t call for them so don’t feel like you have to have them.

Leave a Reply

