DIY Chalkboard Paint

There are many different types of paint these days. I feel like I hear about some new cool type of paint every other week. About 3 years ago I came up with my favorite recipe of “chalk paint” and since then I have done a lot of learning and I have learned the difference in “chalk paint” and “chalkboard paint.”

Chalk paint is great for all sorts of furniture projects, which is what it is probably most used for.

Chalkboard paint is obviously used to paint a surface to be used as a chalkboard.

Ingredients:

  • Acrylic Paint (I always use a 2oz. bottle, but if you use a bigger one, just adjust the rest of the ingredients accordingly.
  • 2 Heaping Tablespoons Cornstarch
  • 1/4 water
  • 1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
  • Chalk

Directions:

Mix the acrylic paint, water, cornstarch, and baking soda in a paint can or jar that can be sealed after use (a mason jar works fine or an old-cleaned out- hot sauce jar, etc.). Stir well, I use a popsicle stick for this so that when I am done I can scrape both sides back into the jar and have as much paint as possible but a spoon works great too.

After you have mixed the paint, it is ready to use on the surface you are turning into a chalkboard.

You will need to do at least 2 coats…but I usually do 3 to 4 just because I think it will give my chalkboard a much better look and longer lifespan. It doesn’t take that much longer either…the paint dries after about 10-15 mins.

MOST IMPORTANT STEP! Once you are done painting the chalkboard surface and it has dried properly, use the chalk and rub it all over the surface. I turn the chalk sideways and go to town. I try and cover it and make it look as white as possible. Let it sit for a few mins. maybe 5, then wipe clean DO NOT use water on the chalkboard at this point…it’s okay to in the future, but not when it is fresh and new. I use a paper towel to wipe it down and then I use a rag to finish it.

Note: If you are making a frame that you can’t take apart into a chalkboard, make sure to blow out the corners and get all the chalk dust off the board before hanging up.

I hope this was helpful!

Any other DIY ideas? I’d love to hear them!

 

One thought on “DIY Chalkboard Paint

Leave a comment